Open Evening

We welcome prospective parents, carers and students to our high school Open Evening on Thursday 28th September 6pm - 8pm and sixth form admissions for 2018/19 on Thursday 5th October 6pm - 8pm.

Parents and Governors

The Governing Board of St Ambrose Barlow RC High School and Sixth Form is made up of Foundation governors, parent governors and staff governors who work together as one team to provide:

  • Leadership, clarity of vision ethos and strategic direction of the school
  • Accountability for the performance of the school and its pupils
  • Oversight of the schools finances and ensuring the money is well spent,

Governors act as a critical friend to the school supporting the Head Teacher and staff in providing pupils with the learning journey and inspirational experiences they need, ensuring that every child matters. We live out the Gospel Values inspired by Christ the Teacher and are mindful of pupils, parents and staff who we support in achieving the best possible results.

Our school has grown to include pupils from six local parishes and a new 6th Form which welcomes students from across Salford. Governors are representative of the local community and bring their expertise and knowledge to the table so that we have a wide range of skills to deal with school business.

I have been Chair of Governors since 2010 and I am fortunate to have an experienced and dedicated team of governor colleagues who spend many hours volunteering to attend school, meetings and other activities.

Governors are proud of our Head teacher and staff and the successful way in which pupils are given the best possible start for adult hood and the world of work. As a Catholic school we educate people to be good citizens not just good pupils and are grateful for the support we receive from parents and the community.

St Ambrose Barlow is a special place, a caring and inclusive community which as a Teaching School spreads and shares good practise with others. We encourage you to be part of the school community supporting your children and attending school events.

Governors are justifiably proud of what we now refer to you as My Ambrose.

I hope you are proud too.

Philip Royle

Chair of Governors


The St Ambrose Barlow RC High School & Sixth Form Governors are:

Mr Philip Royle - Chair/Foundation Governor

Mrs Karen Whitehead - Vice Chair/Foundation Governor

Mr Ben Davis - Head Teacher /Governor

Mrs Helen Devine - Vice Chair/Foundation Governor

Mrs Krys Borritt - Foundation Governor

Mr Peter Conroy - Foundation Governor

Fr Paul Smith - Foundation Governor

Mr Grahame Walker - Foundation Governor (Chair/Foundation Governor St Edmund's RC Primary School)

Mrs Maureen Hawes - Foundation Governor

Mrs Ann Clynch - Foundation Governor

Miss Claire Darlington - LA Governor

Mr Paul Walsh - Parent Governor

Mr Gary Timperley - Parent Governor

Mr Ben Davies - Staff Governor

Mrs Mel Cunningham - Co-opted Governor

Mr Jonathan Lawford - Co-opted Governor

Ms Judith Darby - Clerk to the Governors


Committees 2016


Mr Philip Royle - Chair

Mrs Karen Whitehead – Vice Chair

Mr Ben Davis - Head

Mrs Krys Borritt

Mr Peter Conroy

Mrs Helen Devine



Mr Peter Conroy - Chair

Mr Philip Royle – Vice Chair

Mr Ben Davis

Mr Jonathan Lawford

Mr Gary Timperley

Miss Claire Darlington

Mr Paul Walsh



Mrs Helen Devine - Chair

Mrs Maureen Hawes – Vice Chair

Mr Ben Davis

Mr Jonathan Lawford

Fr Paul Smith

Mr Paul Walsh

Mr Philip Royle

Miss Claire Darlington

Reports from: Miss Furey, Mr Holden, Mrs Johnston; Mr Hulton, Mr Lawford



Mrs Karen Whitehead - Chair

Mrs Krys Borritt - Vice Chair

Mr Ben Davis

Mr Graham Walker

Mrs Mel Cunningham

Mr Peter Conroy


Pupil Welfare

Mrs Krys Borritt - Chair

Mrs Helen Devine - Vice Chair

Mr Ben Davis

Mr Ben Davies

Mrs Maureen Hawes

Mr Gary Timperley

Mr Peter Conroy

Reports: SENCO, Mrs S O’Connor, Mr Holden, Ms Darby


Sixth Form

Mrs Karen Whitehead - Chair

Mr Ben Davis

Mrs Mel Cunningham

Mr Graham Walker

To attend: Mr Michael Connor; Mr Malcolm Walker, Mr Peter Paize/ Mrs Bernie Furey


Pay Review Committee

Chair of Governors

Chair of Finance

Chair of Personnel 


All terms of office last for a period of 4 years.

  • Foundation governors are appointed by the Diocese
  • Staff governors are appointed by school staff
  • Parent governors are appointed by parents of pupils at the school
  • Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Board
  • LA governors are appointed by the LA
  • The Head is ex-officio



This is
your Ambrose...

All fields are required

Please tell us the nature of your enquiry